World Class Curriculum

A world class curriculum is defined by principles and not by its content which should reflect the locality and context of the school.

As a result of both analysis of international research and its work with schools around the world, the Foundation has identified ten principles of a World Class Curriculum, organised into four domains:

  • Values, aims and principles
  • Key competencies for learning and life
  • The world’s major branches of learning
  • Community, local, national and global contexts

A curriculum founded on the ten principles is learner-centred, addressing all aspects of development. It prepares young people for the 21st century, equipped with the knowledge and competences to make them effective lifelong learners. It also broadens horizons while ensuring learning is relevant to students’ lives.

To rag rate your curriculum against the ten principles click here

See Resources for further information relating to the World Class Curriculum and the WCC Mark.

  • More branches of learning

    More branches of learning